Team manager of the Indomitable Lions until January 17, 2019, Bill Tchato was appointed General Coordinator of National Football Teams by FECAFOOT president Seidou Mbombo Njoya. Bill Tchato replaced Nicolas Dikoume whose contract expired in December 2018. Member of one of Cameroon’s best generation’s of players, Bill Tchato won the 2002 AFCON in Mali. Born in M’biam in the Centre Region some 54 years ago, Bill Tchato left his fatherland in his teen to join his parents who worked with the Cameroon Embassy in France. Here, he started training with Stade Malherbe Caen football academy in 1991 with other players like William Gallas and Jérôme Rothen.

He became a professional in the 1995-1996 and started playing with French Division two club Valence. His good performances made him to be transferred to clubs like Nice in (1998-200), Montpellier 2000-January 2003 (which he helped to promote to Ligue 1 in 2001), Kaiserslautern in Germany, back to Nice in 2005, then Qatar SC (2006-2008), Al- Khor (2008-2010), Strasbourg (2010- 2011) before retiring with Gabonese Club FC Sapins (2011-2013). The 1.76m tall left back started his National Team career in 2000. Winner of the AFCON in 2002, finalist of the Confederation Cup in 2003 and finalist of the 2008 AFCON losing to Egypt 0-1.

Caped 58 times with the Indomitable Lions, Bill Tchato after his retirement settled in Gabon, where he was the manager of Samuel Eto’o’s (his teammate) Football Academy. He was also owner of a fast-food restaurant. He occupied this function until January 4, 2018 when he was appointed Team Manager of the Indomitable Lions by the President of the Normalisation Committee, Barrister Dieudonné Happi, replacing Alphonse Tchami. In his new role of Coordinator of National Football Teams, Bill Tchato would assure the smooth functioning of the baby, Cadet, Junior and Senior National Male Football Teams both in and off the playing turf. Bill Tchato is married.



Name: Bill Jackson Tchato Mbiayi

Date of Birth: 11 May 1975
Height: 1.76m
1955-1996: SM Caen
1996-1998:ASOA Valence
1998-2000: OGC Nice
2000-2003: Montpellier HSC
2003-2005: Kaiserslautern
2005-2006: OGC Nice
2006-2008: Qatar SC
2008-2010: Al-Khor
2010-2011: RC Strasbourg
2011-2013: FC Sapins